Movie (and a meal) Monday

Let me start out by saying I’ve never seen The Godfather.

GASP!!

I know. I know.

I love mobster movies. LOVE them. And I’ve never seen the ultimate mobster movie. In an effort to incorporate more shoot-em-up movies with bad guys dressed in three piece suits and wielding large guns, I give you our first Movie Monday- Mobster Monday. Every Monday, Adam and I will watch a movie and I will cook a dish that is fitting for said movie.

Our first Movie Monday started out big. The Godfather and Chicken Marsala. It was a HIT! Pun intended!! I had never made Chicken Marsala and, to tell you the truth, was a tad bit intimidated by it. Whenever you have to add wine to a dish I start getting nervous because there are usually way too many steps involved and, even though it might be worth it, you get halfway through the ingredient list and next thing you know you need that wine more than your meal does. This recipe calls for things you keep in your pantry or fridge.

Creamy Chicken Marsala Pasta
Ingredients:

 2 large boneless, skinless chicken breasts; cut into bite sized pieces
10-12 ounces sliced mushrooms
1 small onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
3/4 cup Marsala cooking wine
1/2 cup chicken broth
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 pound dry pasta + water for cooking {side note: I used papparedelle. Adam’s request}
1 cup Parmesan cheese + more for serving
5 tablespoons unsalted butter
salt and pepper to taste
minced, chopped fresh parsley for garnish {side note: I don’t care much for garnish. I didn’t bother}

Directions:

Season chicken with salt and pepper. Melt 1 tablespoon butter in a large skillet until foaming. Cook chicken until lightly browned. Transfer to plate when done.

Boil water and cook pasta according to the directions.

Melt additional 1 tablespoon of butter in skillet, add garlic, mushrooms and onion and cook for about 6 minutes. Add cooked chicken back into the skillet. Add the Marsala, chicken broth and cream and bring to a boil. Simmer until sauce is is slightly thickened.

Drain pasta and reserve 1/2 cup cooking water. Return the pasta  to the pot with the remaining 3 tablespoons of butter. Add the mushrooms and chicken mixture and 1/2 cup of Parmesan cheese and cook until the pasta has absorbed some of the sauce, about 1 minute, adding the reserved cooking water as needed.

Season with salt and pepper and serve with additional Parmesan cheese and a garnish of chopped parsley.

Ok so let me make one correction.

That’s better. More fitting, don’t you think?

This recipe was spot on. It turned out great! Would I do anything differently? Yeah. I followed the directions step by step but if i did it all over again, I’d make the sauce and then cook the pasta instead of cooking everything all at once. My favorite thing about the recipe? Two dishes. Two! (Not counting the cutting board and knife) My sink sighed in relief.

Try it. It’s a hit!!

I crack myself up.

3 thoughts on “Movie (and a meal) Monday

    1. No… I have been wanting to though! I knew I was missing out! Haha! The whole not having cable thing gets in the way of watching fun shows. And I’m clueless when it comes to finding/watching shows on the Internet.

Leave a Reply

