Sometimes you need a doughnut

I am a nanny. I get boogers handed to me on a daily basis. I get coughs straight in my face. Getting colds should be in my job description.

So after spending nearly a week on the couch I wanted to get out and breathe some fresh air. It was like it was meant to be! The sun came out and was like “yo Ashley welcome back to real life” and I was like “yo sun it’s been a while”.

Adam and I walked all around downtown Portland and it was awesome. I figured since I had eaten nothing but packaged ramen for a week I could treat myself. I’d heard great things about Blue Star and I couldn’t wait to get my hands on their delicious doughnuts.

 WP_20130202_016

The space is gorgeous. It’s clean, bright, and you can’t help but sit and stay a while.

WP_20130202_017

Adam got the bacon maple and I got the peanut butter and jelly.

maplebaconbluestar

WP_20130202_020

And they even had puppy doughnuts!

bluestarpuppydoughnuts

Doughnuts are having a moment in Portland. I completely understand why. Blue Star doughnuts aren’t flashy or funky like the other big name doughnut store in town but they are melt in your mouth delicious; you can taste the freshness. Blue Star is definitely worth a visit.