A four course meal and some exciting news

Monday night’s dinner was kind of a special thing for Adam and I. Not only did we have appetizers, but we also had dessert. We’ve only eaten dessert at a restaurant maybe once that I can think of and it was very recently. We usually only have dinner when we go out because our stomachs are too full and our wallets are too empty to stay for dessert.

We were seated promptly and had plenty of time to look over the menu. Adam and I carefully went over what we would get so we could share. The starters were easy to pick since there were only two to choose from. I chose the profiteroles with the pimento cheese and pea purée. Adam chose the cauliflower and nettle soup.

profiteroles

cauliflower soup

That soup was to die for delicious. And I don’t even like soup (unless I’m deathly ill). Also I didn’t take pictures of our salads because, although delicious, they were just salads and everyone knows what lettuce looks like.

Remember that episode of Always Sunny when Charlie orders a milk steak? Well this is kind of like that except it’s milk braised pork. And it was awesome.

milkpork

Also, my halibut. I could eat this everyday.

halibut

Then dessert came. Adam got the fruit spice cake. It was moist and delicious and lovely.

spicecake

I went with the crème brulee because it’s always what I order if it’s on the menu. This one even had a side! A crème brulee with a side of shortbread cookies!

cremebrulee

In closing, I’d like to say how awesome and fun this dinner was. You should definitely check this little spot out. But where is it, you ask? The Oregon Culinary Institute in Portland (Goose Hollow). They’re open Monday-Friday for lunch at noon and dinner at 7pm.

Also I just applied for their baking and pastry program. So there’s that. Making my dreams come true. There’s no better time than now.

3 thoughts on “A four course meal and some exciting news

Leave a Reply

